User Name
Password

Go Back   Planetarion Forums > Non Planetarion Discussions > Programming and Discussion

Unread 29 Mar 2006, 13:24   #1
Flying Monkey
mokes

Flying Monkey has a spectacular aura aboutFlying Monkey has a spectacular aura aboutFlying Monkey has a spectacular aura about
Getting MySQL to work

I'm really stuck with this. I've never done anything like this before and now for uni we have to do 2 projects using MySQL and php. I've installed apache, php and MySQL on my computer and the apache and php seem to work but I've no idea how to use the SQL

I copied a php script from a book that is just supposed to connect to the sql and show a message saying that its connected but it just shows a blank page which I take it to mean that its not connecting properly.

Code:
<?php $user = "username";

$conn = mysql_connect( "localhost", $user, "password" );
if($conn){
$msg="Congratulations $user, you connected to MySQL"; }
?>

<html><head><title>Connecting user</title></head>
<body><h3> <?php echo($msg); ?> </h3></body></html>
Also what is the $user supposed to be? Does it have to have a specific value? Any help would be grately apprieciated (in language for someone whos crap with computers to understand ), I've been trying to get it to work all day

Rd 13-16
Veneratio | VGN | Subh
Flying Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 29 Mar 2006, 14:07   #2
NEWSBOT3
NEWSBOT

NEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriend
Re: Getting MySQL to work

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flying Monkey