Planetarion Forums

Planetarion Forums (https://pirate.planetarion.com/index.php)
-   General Discussions (https://pirate.planetarion.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Car Insurance Explained (https://pirate.planetarion.com/showthread.php?t=196110)

Appocomaster 17 Feb 2008 19:51

Car Insurance Explained

I've just started work and I'd really appreciate it if anyone has any idea about how car insurance works and what sort I need.

I'm basically a consultant. I'm located in London, but I've been assigned (a couple of weeks ago) to a project in Ipswich.

Ideally (as it's far quicker), I'd like to drive from home (Kent) to the place in Ipswich, and then to the hotel (on Monday). I'll get a taxi back and forth for most of the week (if necessary), but on Friday morning i'll drive from the hotel to the site and then back home.

Do I therefore need business insurance? I'm likely to not spend much time in London and I get the train when I do go.

I can't find any description of what the different types are from a bit of time googling, but can anyone confirm one way or the other which insurance type I need?

<3

All Systems Go 17 Feb 2008 21:15

Re: Car Insurance Explained

Is the car yours or is it a company car?

At the end of the day, insurance companies just take your money.

Appocomaster 17 Feb 2008 21:17

mine (well, my dads but I drive it all the time and I'm going to be sorting it out in my name from now on)

All Systems Go 17 Feb 2008 21:19

Is business insurance more expensive?

Are you sure it's not just for businesses? ;)

Edit: Clearly, I have exhausted all my knowledge on insurance, despite owning a car for two years. I apologise for this post.

Alessio 17 Feb 2008 21:29

mMmm, i think you need the cheapest one.

Appocomaster 17 Feb 2008 21:34

the cheapest one? the private one I assume.
I assume business insurance is more expensive.

Ste 17 Feb 2008 21:51

if you want to claim mileage then strictly speaking you need business insurance.